Union County Celebrates Fifteenth Anniversary

Union County Freeholder Chairman Bruce H. Bergen, Vice Chairman Sergio Granados and Freeholders Bette Jane Kowalski and Vernell Wright congratulate Ryan Frees of Clark on winning first place in the amateur category.

The Union County Board of Chosen Freeholders presented awards at their Fifteenth Anniversary National Arts Program® reception on Wednesday, May 4th. The event was held at the Elizabethtown Gas Company, in the beautiful atrium of the Liberty Hall Center. The art exhibit which included over 150 works was judged by three prominent art professionals including; Marguerite Brennan, Lawrence Cappiello and Frank Falotico.

Libby Reid, who has coordinated this Teen Artist Richa Wadhawan is joined by her family as she accepts her Art Education Award.amazing show every year since its inception in 2001, was presented with an anniversary award for her dedication. The show has brought forth the talents of so many individuals in Union County and Libby has made it happen year after year!  

This year the new $200 Art Education Award was presented along with the annual NAP awards. The three Union County judges were tasked with the difficult job of choosing only one artist from the 95 that participated to receive this prize. Richa Wadhawan from the Teen category took home the award along with a 2nd Place ribbon in her group. She and her family (pictured above) were proud to gather together to accept the award at the reception. The National Arts Program® hopes this new award will encourage this young artist to grow and explore her talents further.

Union County